4 Tactics You Should Be Using To Promote Yourself As A Web Designer

Learn from my mistakes and become a successful web designer

Michelle Mac
3 min readOct 11, 2021

Do you want to become a full-time web designer but aren’t sure where to start?

I have tried every tactic to promote myself as a web designer over the last 10 years. I started websites to promote my services, created sites for my friends and family, I even applied (and failed) to lots of different web design companies.

Through all those attempts and failures, I learned what does work. Tactics you can apply today to help you promote yourself as a Web Designer. Let me share these tactics with you so that you can avoid all the mistakes I made and get started faster.

Tactic #1: Share Who You Are

It’s important to share with potential clients and employers who you are.

You can easily share this information by creating an About page on your website. If you don’t have a website, you can set up a single page using Carrd, Webflow, or WordPress that accomplishes the same thing. Include a photo, tell people who you are, what you do, and what experience you have.

When people know who you are and what you do best, you become more credible.

--

--

Michelle Mac

The *heavily edited* ramblings of a technical writer & frontend dev. I write about creativity, design, and productivity. Start here: https://heymichellemac.com/