A 10 Step Framework For Making Money Online As A Creative In 2022

Michelle Mac
9 min readAug 22, 2022

I’ve been creating online for over 2 years and my biggest regret is not starting sooner.

It took a global pandemic and widespread lockdowns for me to re-evaluate how I spent my time online. I switched from consumer to creator and haven’t looked back since.

If I was to start from scratch today, here’s the framework I’d use to start making money online as a creative.

It won’t make you money overnight or turn you into the next viral sensation, but it will give you the mindset, the tools, and the structure to set up a sustainable side-hustle, career path, or however you want to approach being an online creative.

Step 1 — Identify Your Skills

It’s important to think about the skills you currently have and the things you currently enjoy doing.

Ask yourself:

  • What am I good at?
  • What will people potentially pay me to do?
  • What do I enjoy doing that would benefit others?

The sweet spot is something that fits all three of these criteria. Think of it like a Venn diagram of ability, demand, and enjoyment.

--

--

Michelle Mac

The *heavily edited* ramblings of a technical writer & frontend dev. I write about creativity, design, and productivity. Start here: https://heymichellemac.com/