Jekyll — Add Related Posts At The End Of A Post

Michelle Mac
3 min readJul 26, 2021

At the end of a blog post, it’s a good idea to recommend similar posts to your readers. This helps them to find more great content on your website easily.

I used to manually add related posts at the end of each article but this became really tedious.

When I migrated my website from WordPress to Jekyll, this similar posts feature was a must-have for me. I wanted to make this process as automated as possible.

In this post, I want to share with you how I implemented a related posts section at the end of my blog posts on my Jekyll site.

File Structure

Let’s start by covering how the files are set up.

In the _layouts folder, I have an article.html. This is the template used by articles and it’s where the main code for this feature is implemented.

All I need to do is add the correct layout to any posts in the _posts folder.

I can do this by adding this to the file’s metadata:

---
layout: article
---

Logic

To build this functionality, I first decided how similar posts should be determined.

I wanted similar posts to be found based on the Tags associated with posts.

--

--

Michelle Mac

The *heavily edited* ramblings of a technical writer & frontend dev. I write about creativity, design, and productivity. Start here: https://heymichellemac.com/